Summer Heat!

Happy Hump Day!

I decided to go to the gym today and workout instead of running outside since it has been so hott!!! The weather has been crazy, I can’t imagine working outside in this heat.

This afternoon I worked on some stuff for my master’s class, which was not the most enjoyable thing. The class I am taking right now required a lot of time reading and writing. I am thankful it will be done before school starts. One thing that was getting me through this work was my date with my girlfriends this afternoon. Yay! We met at the mall and ate dinner at Panera. It was delicious but the company was even better. It was really nice to catch up:)

When I got home I decided to bake some Candied Almonds. They are delicious!! I am getting together with a bunch of people from college tomorrow night and I  thought the almonds would be a perfect snack to bring along. I was first introduced to this tasty snack at book club. They are so addicting and easy to make! There is no way you can have just one.

Here is the recipe:

Candied Almonds

1 egg white

1 tablespoon water

1 pound Almonds (You can use any kind of nut)

1 cup white sugar

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 250 degrees F and grease baking sheet. In a mixing bowl, whip together the egg white and water until frothy. In a large baggies combine sugar, salt, and cinnamon. Toss almonds in egg whites, stir to coat the nuts evenly. Remove the nuts, and toss them in the sugar mixture until coated. Spread on the prepared baking sheet. Bake at 250 degrees F for 1 hour. Stir every 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

