Baking!

This summer I have been able to try many new recipes, which has been fun and the majority of them have been delicious. I even have used my fun apron that I received as a gift for a wedding shower. There is a big road race (Bix7) in Davenport this weekend and Bob and I have some friends coming into town. I am really looking forward to this. Since Bob and I have bought our house I have enjoy hosting things and having friends and family over to our house. I thought since we are having guests I would try a new recipes.

One thing I am going to try is a dip that was a hit at book club. It was chocolate chip dip with animal cookies. I think it will be a perfect snack after the race. Here is the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 (8oz.) package of cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 3/4 cup semisweet mini chocolate chips
  • 1 In a small saucepan, melt the
    butter with the brown sugar over medium heat. Stir continuously, until the brown
    sugar dissolves. (You can also do this in the microwave but watch it closely.
    The butter/sugar mixture will boil over fast. Stir every 30 seconds or
    so.)
  • 2 Remove from heat, whisk in the
    vanilla and set aside to cool.
  • 3 Beat the cream cheese and
    confectioner’s sugar for 1 minute.
  • 4 Slowly beat in the cooled butter
    mixture and beat again for another minute.
  • 5 Stir in the chocolate chips and
    nuts, if using.
  • 6 Pour into a serving bowl and
    refrigerate.
  • 7 Enjoy with animal crackers or teddy grahams

 

I hope the guests enjoy the snack!

 

Question: What are your favorite snacks to make for guests?

2 thoughts on “Baking!

  1. YUM! I am going to have to try this out!! Dips are my favorite thing to make when guests come over to the house – BLT dip, Buffalo Chicken dip, Reuben dip, pickle wrap dip, pumpkin fluff, etc. If you ever need a good dip for a get-together, let me know!! Doug’s favorite snack is jalapeno pretzels. They are delicious and addicting! Here’s the recipe if you want to try it out:

    3 (16oz) bags of twisted pretzels
    2 (1oz) Hidden Valley Ranch packets dry mix
    1 (12oz) bottle Orville Redenbacher Buttery Popcorn Oil
    1 tsp. dill weed
    1 tsp. cayenne pepper
    1 tsp. black pepper
    1 Tbsp. Konriko jalapeno seasoning

    Mix all ingredients (minus the pretzels) together in a bowl and stir well. Separate the pretzels into 2 large ziploc bags evenly. Pour half the mixture into one bag; the other half in the second bag and coat well. Spread onto two cookie sheets. Bake for 1 – 1 1/2 hours in 200 degree oven stirring every 15 minutes. Let cool and enjoy! 🙂

    We make them quite a bit and the batch lasts awhile. It’s an easy snack to take on long drives, holidays, other family gatherings, or just to have at the house for yourself! If you ever make them, let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

