BIX Results and RAGBRAI Guests!

It was a HOT! day to run the BIX. Throughout the race I was thankful for all the spectators and people who had sprinklers out. I definitely took advantage of them. I ended up running 51:47.  Even though I did not improve my time from last year I was still happy with my finish considering how hot it was. The popsicles were very refreshing after the race. I was so shocked what runners ate/drank after they just finished running 7 miles! People were grabbing chocolate milk….Soda…cheese and crackers…WOW!

After the race we got cleaned up and relaxed on the patio. It was a beautiful afternoon to spend it with great friends, delicious food, and cold drinks. Not only were there many runners in town for BIX, but RAGBRAI bikers were finishing the week in Davenport. My sister Kristy and her boyfriend Sam rode the entire week. I was happy to be able to meet up with them in Davenport and hear about the week. I am so proud of them. What an accomplishment to ride across Iowa on a bike. They rode 55-85 miles a day. Amazing!

TODAY begins the start of a “Juice Cleanse” Bob and I are doing together. I got the idea from a girl in my book club who did it with her husband during Lent. She said she would do it again and it helped her focus on eating healthy  and choosing healthy things to eat that would make her feel good.  I thought it would be a good thing to do before school started…A fresh start! This is how it works…. For 48-60hrs. Bob and I will only drink water and 100% juice. Bob and I had a late lunch today with our friends. We finished at 3p.m. which will be our last meal until Wednesday morning. I know this sounds crazy, but I know we can do it together. We went to the store and bought a variety of juices and even treated ourselves to some more pricey ones that we would usually pass on.  I will keep you updated on how things are going!

Question: Have you ever done any type of cleanse or detox?

Leave a Reply

