Made a Difference Monday!

I decided to dedicate Monday to “Make a Difference Monday.” Each week I will share a way to make a difference in the world, your own life, or in another person’s life. There are countless ways you can make a difference.

I was walking around Target yesterday and suddenly had the urge to sneeze. After I make a loud Achoo sound a nice women responded “Bless You!” Often times when I hear someone else sneeze I say bless you even if I have no idea who they are, but rarely do I hear someone say it to me. I like using this warm aying with anyone I hear sneeze. It is a great way to wish them well with a blessing. I did some research on the sneeze response and discovered many countries have different responses for sneezes.

The phrase “God bless you” is attributed to Pope Gregory the Great, who uttered it in the sixth century during a bubonic plague. People in Arabic countries say, “Alhamdulillah”, which means “Praise be to God” and people from Hindus say “Live.”

I was pleasantly surprised when the women in Target responded to my sneeze in such a kind manner. The next time you hear someone sneeze wish them well with a “God Bless You!”

Leave a Reply

