Committed

“Anything less than a conscious commitment to the important is an unconscious commitment to the unimportant.” Steven Covey

I have been doing a lot of reflecting lately and found myself coming back to a word that should shape my life….Committment.

 A person can and should be committed to many different things for different reasons. Ex. Faith, marriage, family, friends, fitness, career, etc.  Committment in life drives you to do the things you have been called to do and do them well. Committment ignites and lights a fire within you to make a promise. If you are truly committed to your beliefs and values, your life and happiness is sure to thrive. In order to be successfully committed to things in your life you need to be committed to YOURSELF! What can you do to make yourself the best person you can be?

Fitness is one thing I feel committed to in life. Running has become a strong passion of mine and I have many goals I want to accomplish. I am committed to running. On Tuesday and Thursday mornings I am committed to running with the “crazies.”  There are some mornings that I would rather sleep in, but I am committed to the group. We hold each other accountable for living a healthy lifestyle. The feeling of having 6 miles in before 6A.M. is incredible, but the quality conversation is what truly makes each one of us get out of bed in the morning. We are committed to each other.

As I look at my training for the month of January I am itching to run a race. I want to see what my current fitness level is at. I have put in a significant amount of long, slow miles this winter. I believe these miles will be a strong foundation for future races. Runner’s World had a great article about base mileage in the February issue.

I know I need to continue work on making a stronger commitment in certain areas of my life.It is essential for me to find a balance in the commitments I make so I am making sure I fulfill the promise I made.

Leave a Reply

